

On September 17, 1968, the U.S. Congress established the week of September 15 as National Hispanic Heritage Week. The agreement authorized the President to issue an annual proclamation encouraging people of the United States, "especially the educational community," to observe the Heritage Week. In 1988, the 100th Congress expanded Hispanic Heritage Week to a full month, beginning September 15 and ending October 15. These dates correspond to the independence days of several Latin American countries. September 15 marks the anniversary of independence of Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua. Mexico's independence is September 16, Chile's is September 18, and October 12 is celebrated as Dia de la Raza.







